Program Overview

The University of Saskatchewan College of Nursing undergraduate Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program is for students with strong academic backgrounds, attitudes of curiosity and inquiry, as well as a genuine interest in caring for diverse people of all ages. Our graduates play a vital role in the healthcare system in Saskatchewan and beyond.

The BSN program consists of one year of arts & science (pre-professional year), followed by three years of nursing education. The pre-professional year builds the foundation of the nursing program and includes courses in the humanities, natural, social, and health sciences. The pre-professional year may be completed at a variety of institutions and regional colleges. Learn more about pre-professional year locations here.

Once admitted to the College of Nursing for years two through four, students are given the opportunity to engage in interprofessional learning experiences with students from medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nutrition, kinesiology, physical therapy, clinical psychology, and veterinary medicine in Saskatchewan and around the world. Years two through four may be completed at College of Nursing campuses in Saskatoon, Regina, Prince Albert or through distributed learning sites in Ile-a-La-Crosse, La Ronge, Yorkton, Lloydminster, and North Battleford. Part-time study in the BSN program is an option; however, all courses must be completed within six years of entering the College of Nursing.

In years two through four, students develop critical thinking skills to prepare them to meet the diverse competencies required when becoming a Registered Nurse (RN).

To become eligible for licensure with the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS), graduates must pass the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) administered by Pearson VUE and pay the required fees.


The College of Nursing Bachelor of Science in Nursing program is a fully accredited program through the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN) and has received a full seven year program approval from the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan (CRNS) in September 2023.