Aboriginal Initiatives

Learn Where You Live

The College of Nursing is continuously investing in a Learn Where You Live approach. We have campuses located in Prince Albert, Saskatoon, Regina, and offer our undergraduate program via distributed learning in Île-à-la-Crosse, La Ronge and Yorkton. Our first year (pre-professional nursing) classes are available at the majority of our province’s regional colleges and the University of Regina. Learning close to home is one of the best indicators of both Aboriginal student success and retention into the local workforce after completing their education.

Distributed learning uses information communication technologies to engage, from a distance, student and instructor interaction. Distributed learning enables students to access University of Saskatchewan courses and programs from Île-à-la-Crosse, La Ronge and Yorkton. The vision for distributed learning is to provide a quality, dynamic and engaging learning environment that all students in the province can access.

The College is dedicated to establishing and maintaining high standards of academic quality and service through distributed learning, as in any classroom setting.

Remote Presence

Remote Presence (RP) Telementoring technology is a unique and innovative technology developed to support teaching and learning through distributed learning. Through the use of RP technology, nursing students living in northern communities have access to faculty and mentors. The RP7i model the university is using is an independently mobile robot with an articulated flat-screen monitor for visual display, a dual camera configuration and full on-board audio, for a seamless and immersive experience. The technology allows faculty experts to engage with learners at remote sites to teach and assess clinical competencies. Remote Presence in nursing education removes geographical barriers and supports students to "learn where they live."